Un-insured drivers in Florida could be fined up to $500
Get An Instant Auto Insurance Quote Here. It Only takes 3 minutes.
Instead of paying out of pocket for auto accidents, people pay annual premiums to an auto insurance company; the company then pays all or most of the costs associated with an auto accident or other vehicle damage.
Under the No-Fault Law, Florida vehicle owners are required to carry the minimum amounts of $10,000 for property damage liability (PDL) and $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP).
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage
PIP is a coverage in which the auto insurance company pays, within the specified limits, the medical, hospital and funeral expenses of the insured person, people in the insured vehicle and pedestrians struck by the insured vehicle.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (BI)
If an insured person is legally liable for an accident, BI coverage pays for injuries/death to people involved in the accident other than the insured driver.
If your insured vehicle is damaged due to an event other than a collision, Comprehensive coverage will pay for the damage. This includes damages from fire, theft, windstorm, flood and vandalism. If your vehicle is stolen, Comprehensive covers transportation and loss of use expenses when applicable.
When your insured vehicle overturns or collides with another object, Collision coverage pays for the damage to your vehicle.
Medical Payments (MedPay) Coverage
MedPay is an optional insurance coverage that pays for reasonable and necessary medical and funeral expenses for covered persons. These expenses must be incurred as a result of an auto accident.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM)
If a driver or owner of a vehicle does not have insurance and is legally liable for an accident, you can use UM coverage for injuries, including death, that you, your resident relatives, and occupants of your insured vehicle sustain, up to the limits you select.